• Meets the State required 6-hour class
• Certificate of completion
• Vision test at our office
• Written test at our office
• Saving time by taking your road test with us.
• Skip the 2 month wait time at the DPS for an appointment.
• Skip the long lines at the DPS.
• Use our car or yours!
Road Test Prep - $55
One of our professional trainers will explain the scoring system and take you through the entire test route (Parallel Parking included). You will be behind the wheel, one on one with our trainer to brush-up your skills before testing In the vehicle of your preference.
Adult Training Complete Package - $469*
• Adult permit class (6-hour) and permit test
• 3 Sessions driving lessons (6 hours)
• A car for the road test at DPS
*Please note that a $18 ($6/session) gasoline surcharge will be added to your order.
Contract Late Cancellation Fee - $50
• 24 hour notice is required for entire contract cancellations administration fee changes will be assessed before refund.
Late Cancellation/No-Show Fee - $35
• 24 hour notice is required for cancellations or scheduling changes or "NO SHOW" fee will be assessed.
• Any outstanding appointments will be canceled and you will not be able to schedule further appointments until the fee is paid.
Lost/Stolen Certificate - $35
Adult Driving Lessons
Driving lessons for adults over the age of 18 who need to learn how to operate a vehicle. Our instructors will teach you how to control your vehicle, drive defensively, make left and right turns correctly, parallel parking, and much more. Anyone under the age of 18 must take a state approved driver education course to qualify for a license.
To get a drivers license, every student must:
Have an instructional permit
Take a final road test with a Houston Driving School or State Trooper at the DPS office
All driving instruction is done in a Houston Driving School vehicle. Every student must have an instructional permit (or a valid driver's license) to take driving lessons with Houston Driving School. Every student must take a final road test with a State Trooper at the DPS to get their final Texas license.
Your lesson begins when the instructor arrives at your location. Registration and payment for lessons and pick ups must be made before the day of the lesson. You can come by our office to pay in person or pay online.
Houston Driving School recommends that every student take as many lessons as necessary to feel comfortable behind the wheel.
Driving lessons can be scheduled online. Once you complete your payment, you can schedule your lessons online (you will receive a link via email) or by phone.
Don't have a car?
We will come pick you up anywhere in the Houston area. Please search by zip code on the left to see pick up fees. Students who live within 2 miles of our office can be picked up and returned home for FREE!
Adult Permit Class (6-Hour)
Our 6-hour adult driver education course covers the Texas Driver Handbook including road signs and road rules. The class ensures that you will pass the permit test. According to state law you must pass an exam over the Texas Driver Handbook in order to receive a driving permit before being eligible to taking the driving test with a State Trooper at the DPS.
According to State Law, the Adult Permit Class is required for adults ages 18-25 in order to obtain a Texas Driver's License. Click here to see the new laws regarding this requirement.
Effective September 1, 2017, the state of Texas requires adults to complete the Impact Texas Driver Online course. Students must print and show a certificate of completion in order to schedule driving appointments with the DPS or third party skills testing centers.
Please Note: These prices are available by advanced registration ONLY. In order to receive the discounted price of $99 for the Basic Package or $119 for the All-Inclusive Package, you must register for the class at least 24 hours in advance by paying online or in person at our office, otherwise the full course fee of $139 for the Basic Package and $149 for the All-Inclusive Package will apply.
Online Course - $49.95
Once you purchase the course and pay you will receive details on how to register and begin your course online!
Upon completion of the class, passing the permit test and vision test, you will receive a Certificate of Completion (ADE-1317). You will need to take this certificate along with your ID and Social Security Card to the DPS office to receive the Driving Permit. Your photo and fingerprints will be taken at the DPS office.
Please remember, without a permit you are not legally allowed to drive a vehicle for ANY reason and can not obtain a driver's license.
Please bring to class with you:
Any type of ID showing your date of birth
Glasses or contacts (if you wear them)
Payment receipt (if paid online)
Please Note: On class day you must arrive to the school by 8:15am to fill out the required paperwork.
We will provide you with a list of documents required by the DPS and our staff will help you fill out the necessary DPS forms.
Road Test at DPS Office - $120/Test
Once you have your driving permit and feel comfortable operating a vehicle, you must take a road test in order to obtain your license.
Don't have a car? We will provide you ours to take your road test. Just schedule your appointment with the DPS, call us and let us know the date and time and we will meet you there. Please give us at least 3 days notice prior to your appointment. If you are not a student of our school (have not had driving lessons with us) you must purchase a minimum of 2 hours of driving lessons in order to use this service. Please see above for information about driving lessons and pick up fees.
Payment must be made before your scheduled test. Once payment is made, you can schedule your appointment online (you will get a link via email) or by phone. Please contact us if you have questions.
If you schedule your road test with Houston Driving School you must arrive to the location 1 hour prior your appointment time. You must have a valid driving Permit and a completed DPS Impact Texas Drivers (ITYD) or (ITAD) 1 hour Certificate, completed within 90 days before the skills examination. If you are using your own vehicle for examination, your car must have a valid insurance policy, all inspections stickers must be current and all lights must be in working condition.
If you would like to reschedule or cancel your appointment, you must notify us at least 48 hours in advance. There will be no refunds for no-shows or cancellations (for any reason) that occur fewer than 48 hours before your appointment time. If you are late for your appointment by more than 10 minutes, your appointment will be cancelled and no refund will be given.
Adult Training Complete Package - $469
The Adult Training Complete Package includes the following three phases (described above):
Adult Permit Class and Permit Test (original cost)