houston driving school

Houston Driving School

SERVING YOUR DRIVING NEEDS ALL
OVER THE GREATER HOUSTON AREA
713-551-2073
Shopping cart is empty.

Course Fees

Please call us for the class schedule. Payments can be made online below or in person during office hours using cash or money order. Your place in class is not reserved until payment in full has been received. All in-class instruction will be provided at 11303 Chimney Rock Rd. Ste.100 Houston, TX 77035.

Training Phase I & II - $600

Phase I – 45 Hours - $300

• 18 hours - Direct classroom instruction from a certified teacher
• 11 hours - Independent study on specified topics completed outside the classroom
• 16 hours - Live classroom observation to learn driver education curriculum first hand

Select Qty.

Phase II – 45 Hours - $300

• 11 hours - Direct classroom instruction from a certified teacher
• 2 hours - Assessment of trainee's driving skills by licensed TEA instructor
• 8 hours - Trainee observation of in-car teaching techniques
• 2 hours - Practice of Instructor Risk Management / Emergency Procedures (taking control of the vehicle) under the supervision of TEA licensed instructor
• 14 hours - In-car trainee student teaching under the supervision of TEA licensed instructor
• 2 hours - Trainee in-car teaching final assessment under the supervision of TEA licensed instructor
• 7 hours - Independent study on specified topics completed outside the classroom

Select Qty.

Training Phase III - $600

• 11 hours - Direct classroom instruction from a certified teacher
• 10 hours - Observation of classroom teaching techniques as given by TEA licensed Driver Education Teacher (DET) or Supervising Teacher (ST)
• 18 hours - Student teaching in the classroom under the supervision of TEA licensed Driver Education Teacher (DET) or Supervising Teacher (ST)
• 6 hours - Independent study on specified topics completed outside of the classroom.

Select Qty.


Driver's Education Instructor Training

The driver education industry is rapidly growing and in need of instructors who are looking for a way to earn extra money while giving back to the community. The level of instruction is demanding, but all families and roadway users in Texas deserve the peace of mind that comes with knowing that new drivers are being taught by well trained and well prepared instructors. The instructor certification process includes a significant time commitment outside of the classroom instruction.

Licensing Options
  • Teaching Assistant (TA) - Certification allows for in-car instruction of teens and adults. Phases I & II required.
  • Teaching Assistant - Full (TA-F) - Certification allows for classroom and in-car instruction of teens and adults under the supervision of a DET. Phases I, II, & III required.
  • Driver Education Teacher (DET) - Certification allows for independent classroom and in-car instruction of teens and adults within TEA limitations. Phases I, II, and III required in addition to a valid Texas Teacher’s Certification.

Pre-Requisites
  • Good knowledge of the English language is required. Additional languages are a plus.
  • All trainees must be over the age of 21.
  • All trainees must have at least five (5) years of driving experience.
  • All trainees are required to provide, prior to enrollment, a copy of their:
    1. valid driver's license
    2. copy of high school diploma, GED, or College Diploma.
    3. copy of current driving record. The trainee must have six or less penalty points on his driving record during the preceding 36 month period. (Get a copy of your driving record here).
  • All trainees should have a "good reputation" as defined by the Driver Training Programs Commissioner’s Rules.
  • All trainees must sign a Trainee Enrollment Contract.
  • All course fees must be paid in full.
  • All trainees are required to complete Phase I and Phase II in order to get the minimum certification (TA).
  • All work required for Phase I must be completed before starting Phase II. Trainees may attend the classroom session for Phase II after attending the classroom session for Phase I. It is not necessary to complete the outside work for Phase I to attend the classroom session for Phase II.
  • All work required for Phase II must be completed before starting Phase III. Trainees may attend the classroom session for Phase III after attending the classroom session for Phases I & II. It is not necessary to complete the outside work for Phases I & II prior to attending the classroom session for Phase III.

Additional Information - Please Read!

Effective September 1, 2012, all driver education instructor applicants must submit to a national criminal history record information review and provide fingerprints to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) through the Fingerprint Application Service of Texas (FAST). Each applicant will be required to pay additional fees related to obtaining the criminal history record information ($31.50) and fingerprinting fees ($9.95).

NEW INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT
  • Fee of $106.50 payable to TEA (includes licensing fees and criminal history record information)
  • Fee of $9.95 payable to the Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas (FAST) program (fingerprinting)

RENEWAL INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT
  • Fee of $56.50 payable to TEA (includes timely licensing fees and criminal history record information)
  • Fee of $9.95 payable to the Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas (FAST) program (fingerprinting)
More information about the fingerprint requirements may be found here.

If a driver education new or renewal instructor application has already been submitted to the Driver Training office and initial licensing fees paid, notice will be provided directly to the applicant via U.S. mail in the near future requesting additional requirements which must be submitted to complete the application process. If not received within 90 days from the date of the letter, the instructor application process will be terminated. An individual whose application has been terminated must submit new application materials and fees to apply for a license in the future.

Instructor applications which include the new requirements and fees may be found on the Driver Training website here. Notarization requirements have been removed from all applications.